University of Alberta


 Printer Friendly

GIS User Group 

The GIS User Group involves faculty and graduate students - primarily in the Ecology or associated with ACCRU - who are applying GIS to their research.

Email the GIS Analyst if you would like to be included in the group email list to receive course announcements, updates, and news related to GIS in the Department.


ESRI Canada Scholarship Winners

We have had the following graduate students in our Department receive ESRI Canada GIS Scholarships:

  • 2012 - Corey Scobie (Bayne lab)
  • 2010 - Aditya Gangadharan (St. Clair lab)
  • 2009 - Jackson Chu (Leys lab)


GIS Steering Committee

The following staff are responsible for the on-going evolution of the GIS facilities in the Department of Biological Sciences:

Charlene Nielsen, GIS Analyst

Erin Bayne, Associate Professor

Evelyn Merrill, Professor

Colleen St. Clair, Professor

Dianne Payeur, Assistant Chair, Administration

Brian Lanoil, Associate Chair, Research


GIS Librarian

Larry Laliberté is the go-to person for data acquisition, licensing, long-term preservation, etc.


Last Modified: 2015-04-08