Comparative Morphology and Development (CMD) Report of its Business Meeting (Wednesday, May 15, 2013) to the Council of the Canadian Society of Zoologists, May 2013.

Outgoing chair: Tamara Franz-Odendaal

Incoming Chair: Tony Russell

Next chair: TBA

(a) CMD activities at the Guelph Meeting.

The CMD sessions started off at the annual meeting (on Tuesday afternoon) at the University of Guelph with a packed room. This year CMD ran joint symposia with two other divisions -- The CMD-PIE student symposium on host-parasite interactions and effects on morphology, and the CMD-CPB symposium on biomechanics. As always the CMD main symposium was well received and featured 3 international speakers who each spoke on different aspects of head development in vertebrates.

CMD had 29 contributed abstracts for oral presntations at the meeting. An additional 93 people acknowledged an affiliation with our division during registration.

(b) Announcements

Anyone who is interested in serving as the CMD chair in the future please let Tony Russell know.

The Hall award. Changes to the Hall award guidelines are being instituted as follows: previous winners are only eligible to apply if they are in a different degree program to the one that they were registered in at the time of their previous success.

Congratulations to Tamara Franz-Odendaal, outgoing chair, who received the American Association of Anatomists
Morphological Sciences award this year. The award was established in 2008 to recognize investigators in the early stages of their careers who have made important contributions to biomedical science through research in the morphological sciences, as broadly defined, and have

demonstrated remarkable promise of future accomplishments.

(c) Matters Reported to, or Discussed at, the Council Meeting of May $17^{\rm th}$.

There were eight entries for the Hall Award. The winner was Zabrina Prescott, Dalhousie University.

The Hoar Award was won by Daniel Field, Yale University, a CMD member.

A CMD member is being recruited to serve on the CSZ committee that is working on revisions to the by-laws of the society.

Tamara Franz-Odendaal and Anthony Russell.